Ana səhifə

Composite List of Country Categorizations For the purpose of determining wbu membership Dues

Yüklə 81 Kb.
ölçüsü81 Kb.
Composite List of Country Categorizations

For the purpose of determining WBU Membership Dues

(Based on the UNDP Human Development Index, the World Bank List of Developing Nations, and the UN List of Least Developed Countries)

May, 2007
The following is a list that was compiled from three sources in order to identify the countries which have the greatest need for assistance. The sources used to create the list were:

  • The UNDP Human Development Index,

  • The World Bank List of Developing Nations (which includes all nations and their current developmental status), and

  • The UN List of Least Developed Countries.

The criterion for each of these lists is available at the end of the document.

The list that follows has been organized in such a way that if a country appeared once, in any of the low categories on any of the three lists, then it was placed in the low category. The same process was applied for the medium and high categories. Next to each country an abbreviation has been placed to indicate which list has put that country in its particular category.

  • UNDP Human Development Index = HDI

  • UN List of Least Developed Countries = UN

  • World Bank List of Developing Nations = WB

Low Level Countries (64)
Afghanistan (UN, WB)

Angola (UN, HDI)

Bangladesh (UN, WB)

Benin (UN, WB, HDI)

Bhutan (UN, WB)

Burkina Faso (UN, WB, HDI)

Burundi (UN, WB, HDI)

Cambodia (UN, WB)

Cape Verde (UN)

Central African Rep. (UN, WB, HDI)

Chad (UN, WB, HDI)

Comoros (UN, WB)

Congo, Dem. Rep. (UN, WB, HDI)

Cote d’Ivoire (WB, HDI)

Djibouti (UN, HDI)

Equatorial Guinea (UN)

Eritrea (UN, WB, HDI)

Ethiopia (UN, WB, HDI)

Gambia (UN, WB, HDI)

Ghana (WB)

Guinea (UN, WB, HDI)

Guinea-Bissau (UN, WB, HDI)

Haiti (UN, WB, HDI)

India (WB)

Kenya (WB, HDI)

Kiribati (UN)

Korea, Dem. Rep. (WB)

Kyrgyz Rep. (WB)

Lesotho (UN, HDI)

Liberia (UN, WB)

Laos PDR (WB)

Madagascar (UN, WB)

Malawi (UN, WB, HDI)

Maldives (UN)

Mali (UN, WB, HDI)

Mauritania (UN, WB, HDI)

Mongolia (WB)

Mozambique (UN, WB, HDI)

Myanmar (UN, WB)

Nepal (UN, WB)

Niger (UN, WB, HDI)

Nigeria (WB, HDI)

Pakistan (WB)

Papua New Guinea (WB)

Rwanda (UN, WB, HDI)

Sao Tome & Principe (UN, WB)

Senegal (UN, WB, HDI)

Sierra Leone (UN, WB, HDI)

Solomon Islands (UN, WB)

Somalia (UN, WB)

Sudan (UN, WB)

Tajikistan (WB)

Tanzania (UN, WB, HDI)

Timor-Leste (UN, WB)

Togo (UN, WB, HDI)

Tuvalu (UN)

Uganda (UN, WB)

Uzbekistan (WB)

Vietnam (WB)

Vanuatu (UN)

Yemen (UN, WB, HDI)

Zambia (UN, WB, HDI)

Zimbabwe (WB, HDI)

Lower Mid-Level Countries (51)
Albania (WB, HDI)

Algeria (WB, HDI)

Armenia (WB, HDI)

Azerbaijan (WB, HDI)

Belarus (WB, HDI)

Bolivia (WB, HDI)

Bosnia and Herzegovina (WB)

Brazil (WB, HDI)

Bulgaria (WB)

Cameroon (WB, HDI)

China (WB, HDI)

Colombia (WB, HDI)

Congo, Rep. (WB, HDI)

Cuba (WB)

Dominican Republic (WB, HDI)

Ecuador (WB, HDI)

Egypt (WB, HDI)

El Salvador (WB, HDI)

Fiji (WB, HDI)

Georgia (WB, HDI)

Guatemala (WB, HDI)

Guyana (WB, HDI)

Honduras (WB, HDI)

Indonesia (WB, HDI)

Iran (WB, HDI)

Iraq (WB)

Jamaica (WB, HDI)

Jordan (WB, HDI)

Kazakhstan (WB, HDI)

Macedonia (WB, HDI)

Marshall Islands (WB)

Micronesia (WB)

Moldova (WB, HDI)

Morocco (WB, HDI)

Namibia (WB, HDI)

Nicaragua (WB, HDI)

Paraguay (WB, HDI)

Peru (WB, HDI)

Philippines (WB, HDI)

Samoa (WB, HDI)

Serbia and Montenegro (WB)

Sri Lanka (WB, HDI)

Suriname (WB, HDI)

Swaziland (WB, HDI)

Syrian Arab Rep. (WB, HDI)

Thailand (WB, HDI)

Tonga (WB)

Tunisia (WB, HDI)

Turkmenistan (WB, HDI)

Ukraine (WB, HDI)

West Bank and Gaza (WB, HDI)

Upper Mid-Level Countries (40)
American Samoa (WB)

Argentina (WB)

Barbados (WB)

Belize (WB, HDI)

Botswana (WB, HDI)

Chile (WB)

Costa Rica (WB)

Croatia (WB)

Czech Rep. (WB)

Dominica (WB, HDI)

Estonia (WB)

Gabon (WB, HDI)

Grenada (WB, HDI)

Hungary (WB)

Latvia (WB)

Lebanon (WB, HDI)

Libya (WB, HDI)

Lithuania (WB)

Malaysia (WB)

Mauritius (WB)

Mayotte (WB)

Mexico (WB)

Northern Mariana Islands (WB)

Oman (WB)

Palau (WB)

Panama (WB)

Poland (WB)

Romania (WB)

Russian Federation (WB, HDI)

Saudi Arabia (HDI)

Seychelles (WB)

Slovak Rep. (WB)

South Africa (WB, HDI)

St. Kitts and Nevis (WB)

St. Lucia (WB, HDI)

St. Vincent and the Grenadines (WB, HDI)

Trinidad & Tobago (WB)

Turkey (WB, HDI)

Uruguay (WB)

Venezuela (WB, HDI)

High Level Countries (55)
Andorra (WB)

Antigua & Barbuda (WB, HDI)

Aruba (WB)

Australia (WB, HDI)

Austria (WB, HDI)

The Bahamas (WB, HDI)

Bahrain (WB, HDI)

Belgium (WB, HDI)

Bermuda (WB)

Brunei Darussalam (WB, HDI)

Canada (WB, HDI)

Cayman Islands (WB)

Channel Islands (WB)

Cyprus (WB, HDI)

Denmark (WB, HDI)

Faeroe Islands (WB)

Finland (WB, HDI)

France (WB, HDI)

French Polynesia (WB)

Germany (WB, HDI)

Greece (WB, HDI)

Greenland (WB)

Guam (WB)

Hong Kong (WB, HDI)

Iceland (WB, HDI)

Ireland (WB, HDI)

Isle of Man (WB)

Israel (WB, HDI)

Italy (WB, HDI)

Japan (WB, HDI)

Korea, Rep. (WB, HDI)

Kuwait (WB, HDI)

Liechtenstein (WB)

Luxembourg (WB, HDI)

Macao (WB)

Malta (WB, HDI)

Monaco (WB)

Netherlands (WB, HDI)

Netherlands Antilles (WB)

New Caledonia (WB)

New Zealand (WB, HDI)

Norway (WB, HDI)

Portugal (WB, HDI)

Puerto Rico (WB)

Qatar (WB, HDI)

San Marino (WB)

Singapore (WB, HDI)

Slovenia (WB, HDI)

Spain (WB, HDI)

Sweden (WB, HDI)

Switzerland (WB, HDI)

United Arab Emirates (WB, HDI)

United Kingdom (WB, HDI)

United States (WB, HDI)

Virgin Islands (WB)

Criterion for each list
UN List of Least Developed Countries
This list was compiled by the Committee for Development Policy (CDP) and presented to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations. The three criteria for the selection of countries that appear on the list are below and were taken from the UN web page:

  • A low income criterion, based on a three year average estimate of the gross national income (GNI) per capita (under $750 for inclusion, above $900 for graduation);

  • An economic vulnerability criterion, involving a composite Economic Vulnerability Index (EVI) based on indicators of: (a) the instability of agricultural production; (b) the instability of exports of goods and services; (c) the economic importance of non-traditional activities (share of manufacturing and modern services in GDP); (d) merchandise export concentration; and (e) the handicap of economic smallness (as measured through the population in logarithm); and the percentage of population displaced by natural disasters.

As per the web page, for a country to be added to the list they must satisfy all three criteria. To graduate from the list a country must meet the thresholds for two of the three criteria in two consecutive triennial reviews by the CDP.

World Bank List of Developing Nations
According to the World Bank web-page the World Bank’s main criterion for classifying economies is gross national income (GNI). These tables classify all World Bank member countries (184) and all other economies with populations of more than 30, 000. The following list reflects the 2005 GNI per capita. The groups are: low-income, $875 or less; lower-middle income, $876-$3,465; upper-middle income, $3,466-$10,725; and high income, $10,726 or more.
UNDP Human Development Index

This index takes into account a variety of criteria in order to develop its rankings system. The criteria which is used to measure a country’s rank is the following; life expectancy at birth, adult literacy rate, combined gross enrolment ratio for primary, secondary, and tertiary schools, GDP per capita, life expectancy index, education index, and GDP index.

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur © 2016
rəhbərliyinə müraciət